Commissioner Nabih H. Ayad of Canton Elected Treasurer of Civil Rts Commission

Lansing, MI – At the general meeting of the Michigan Civil Rights Commission on April 27, 2009, new officers were elected as follows:  Commissioner Matt Wesaw (Holt) will continue to serve as Chair. Wesaw succeeded former Chair Kelvin W. Scott who was appointed Director of the Michigan Department of Civil Rights. Commissioner J. Michael Zelley (Grand Blanc) was elected to serve as Vice-Chair. Commissioner Lisa Peeples-Hurst (Benton Harbor) was elected as Secretary. Commissioner Nabih H. Ayad (Canton) was elected to serve as Treasurer.

The Commission also set a tentative meeting schedule for the remainder of 2009. Details on dates and locations, as well as speakers and topics, will be released at a later time.

The meeting schedule is as follows:  June 22 – Benton Harbor or Kalamazoo; August 24 – Northern Lower Peninsula or Upper Peninsula; October 26 – Lansing; December 14 – TBD.

For more information on the Michigan Civil Rights Commission, please call 1/800-482-3604 or visit (517) 335-3164.

0 replies